Drop us a line...

Send Message

Market

The Games Market

Let’s start with a simple question. Which market do you think is the most powerful in turnover: music, movies or games? The answer will be astonishing for you: with games, more than 100 billion USD in sales are generated every year worldwide, more than music and cinema together.

And this gigantic market has been growing continuously for years and will continue to grow.

global games 2017

Source: NEWZOO, Global Games Market Report 2017

Why is this market so big and why does it grow? Most people today are using a smartphone to make phone calls, take pictures, chat, surf the internet and play games. These smartphones are not only small all-rounder, they are also primarily portable gaming consoles. Over 2 billion people worldwide use their smartphone to play games. And every year new, technically better models come into the market. If you look at the applications (apps) that make the most sales on smartphones, you can’t be surprised: it’s games.

Most apps nowadays are free of charge. You will say how can you make money with it? Well observed. Games are free, to let as many people as possible try them. Try before buy is the motto and that is a fair approach to the consumer. The game also offers paid content, which you can purchase to get an even more intense playing experience, to play more individually or simply to get a faster game progress. These offers, which usually cost 1 or 2 EUR / USD, are called microtransactions. In addition, you often see advertising in games, even here, gaming manufacturers earn money though the game itself is still free for the consumer. Small amounts, however, which add up over the mass of players world-wide and thus allow the refinancing of a game development.

Besides smartphones, people are also playing on computers, laptops, tablets and video game consoles. But most of all on the smartphone.

Games are played around the world. The markets / regions with the highest spendings are: China, Japan, USA, Europe. The strongest growing games markets are Southeast Asia, India and South America.

GAWOONI focuses on games for smartphones (mobile games) and specifically on the emerging markets Southeast Asia and India. The GAWOONI game portal can be used with a smartphone, PC, laptop or tablet.

Another important trend in gaming is esports. esports means professional, competitive gaming. The gamer are mostly organized in teams and leagues. They play online together / against each other and at major esports events with thousands of visitors. Nearly 700 million USD will be generated in 2017 with esports according to the market research company NEWZOO, which specializes in the games industry. More than 70% of the revenue belongs to media rights, advertising and sponsorship fees. Sport, action and strategy games are played. Many real sport leagues already have a virtual counterpart. And just as in real sports, esports offers many opportunities for sponsors, advertising and media partners.
GAWOONI already has an esports project in its conceptualization, of course with a special focus on the Asian market, because esports is very important here.

Drop us a line...

Send Message

Markt

Der Games Markt

Lassen Sie und mit einer einfachen Frage starten. Welcher Markt denken Sie ist der umsatzstärkste: Musik, Kino oder Games? Die Antwort wird Sie erstaunen: Mit Games werden pro Jahr über 100 Millarden USD Umsatz weltweit generiert, mehr als Musik und Kino zusammen.

Und dieser gigantische Markt wächst seit Jahren kontinuierlich und wird weiter wachsen.

global games 2017

Quelle: NEWZOO, Global Games Market Report 2017

Warum ist dieser Markt so groß und warum wächst er? Die meisten Menschen benutzen heutzutage ein Smartphone zum Telefonieren, Fotografieren, Chatten, Internet Surfen und zum Spielen. Diese Smartphones sind nicht nur kleine Alleskönner, sie sind in erster Linie auch tragbare Spielekonsolen. Über 2 Milliarden Menschen nutzen weltweit ihr Smartphone zum Spielen. Und jedes Jahr kommen neue, technisch bessere Modelle auf den Markt. Schaut man sich einmal an, mit welchen Applikationen (Apps) auf Smartphones der meiste Umsatz gemacht, staunt man nicht schlecht: es sind Games.

Die meisten Apps sind doch aber heutzutage kostenlos werden Sie sagen, wie kann man denn damit Geld verdienen? Gut beobachtet. Spiele sind deshalb kostenlos, damit möglichst viele Leute sie ausprobieren. Ausprobieren kostet nichts heisst die Devise und das ist ein fairer Ansatz gegenüber dem Konsumenten. Das Spiel bietet dann aber auch kostenpflichtige Inhalte, die man erwerben kann um ein noch intensiveres Spielerlebnis zu haben, individueller zu Spielen oder einfach einen schnelleren Spielefortschritt zu ermöglichen. Diese kostenpflichtigen Inhalte, die meist 1-2 Euro oder Dollar kosten, nennt man Microtransactions. Daneben sieht man oft auch Werbung in Spielen, auch hiermit verdienen Spielehersteller Geld, obwohl das Spiel an sich für den Konsumenten kostenlos ist. Kleine Beträge also, die sich aber über die Masse an Spielern weltweit summieren und so die Refinanzierung einer Spieleentwicklung ermöglichen.

Neben Smartphones wird natürlich auch auf Computern, Laptops, Tablets und Videospielekonsolen gespielt. Am meisten aber auf dem Smartphone.

Gespielt wird weltweit. Die umsatzstärksten Märkte/Regionen sind: China, Japan, USA, Europa. Die am stärksten wachsenden Märkte sind Südostasien, Indien und Südamerika.

GAWOONI konzentriert sich auf Spiele für Smartphones (Mobile Games) und ganz gezielt auf die Wachstumsmärkte Südostasien und Indien. Das GAWOONI Spieleportal kann mit dem Smartphone, dem PC, Laptop oder Tablet genutzt werden.

Ein weiterer wichtiger Trend im Bereich Gaming ist esports. esports bezeichnet das professionelle, wettbewerbsmäßige Spielen. Die Spieler sind dabei meist in Teams und Ligen organisiert. Gespielt wird online zusammen und gegeneinander oder auf großen esports Veranstaltungen. Fast 700 Millionen USD Dollar werden in 2017 nach Angaben des auf die Gamesbranche spezialisierten Marktforschungsunternehmens NEWZOO mit esports erwirtschaftet. Über 70% der Umsätze entfallen auf Medienrechte, Werbung und Sponsorengelder. Gespielt werden Sport-, Action- und Strategiespiele. Viele reale Sportligen haben bereits ein virtuelles Pendant. Und genau wie im realen Sport bietet esports viele Möglichkeiten für Sponsoren, Werbe- und Medienpartner.
GAWOONI hat bereits ein explizites esports Projekt in der Konzeptionierung, natürlich mit speziellem Fokus auf den asiatischen Markt, denn hier wird esports ganz groß geschrieben.